You are here

Thierry Poinsot

Thierry Poinsot recieved his Ph.D. from Ecole Centrale Paris in 1983 and his doctorat d'Etat from University of Orsay (Paris XI) in 1987. He is the research director at Institut de Mecanique des Fluides de Toulouse (CNRS). He is also a scientific advisor for the Computational Fluid Dynamics group at CERFACS and research scientist at Center for Turbulence Research (Stanford University and NASA Ames). Doctor Poinsot's research interests include: laminar and turbulent combustion, combustion instabilities, simulation and control of two-phase flows, high-performance computing for CFD and multiphysics. Doctor Poinsot is an Associate Fellow of the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA) and he got the DOE INCITE Award (three times) in 2008-2010, 2011-2013 and 2013-2014 as well as other academic awards.

Ronald K. Hanson

Professor Hanson obtained his Ph.D. from Stanford University. He has been affiliated with Stanford University since 1972 and holds the Woodard Chair of Mechanical Engineering. He served as the ME Department chair at Stanford from 1993-2003 and has advised over 80 Ph.D. graduates. His research has been in the fields of laser diagnostics and sensors, shock wave physics and combustion chemistry, and he has authored or co-authored over 400 archival publications in these fields. He is a Fellow of the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics, the American Society of Mechanical Engineers and the Optical Society of America, and is a member of the US National Academy of Engineering. He is a recipient of the Silver Medal and the Alfred C. Egerton Gold Medal of the Combustion Institute, the R.I. Soloukhin Award of the Institute for the Dynamics of Explosions and Reactive Systems, and of the AIAA Awards for Propellants and Combustion and for Advanced Measurement Technology.

Charles K. Westbrook

Charles K. Westbrook received his Ph.D. from the University of California at Davis in 1974. He has been associated with the Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory since 1968, being a Leader of various divisions from 1987 to 2005. Dr. Westbrook received the Horning Memorial Award and the Arch T. Colwell Merit Award (twice) of the SAE in 1991, 2000, and 2003 respectively, the Thomas Midgley Award of the American Chemical Society in 1993, and the Bernard Lewis Gold Medal of the Combustion Institute in 2008. He is a Fellow of the SAE and the past president of the Combustion Institute.

Moshe Matalon

Moshe Matalon received his Ph.D. in Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering from Cornell University in 1978. After two years on the faculty of the Aerodynamics Laboratories of the Polytechnic Institute of New York he joined the McCormick School of Engineering and Applied Science at Northwestern, where he was Professor of Mechanical Engineering and Applied Mathematics. In 2007 he joined the Department of Mechanical Science and Engineering at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign holding the College of Engineering Caterpillar Chair. His research interests are in combustion theory and theoretical fluid mechanics, where he made contributions to a wide range of topics including the structure, dynamics and stability of premixed and diffusion flames, combustion instabilities and combustion of heterogeneous fuels. Professor Matalon is a Fellow of the American Physical Society (APS) and the Institute of Physics (IOP) and Associate Fellow of the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA). In 2010 he received the AIAA Pendray Aerospace Literature award. Professor Matalon has served as editor-in-chief of Combustion Theory and Modelling since 2001 and as Associate Editor of the Journal of Fluid Mechanics since 2008.

Theme by Danetsoft and Danang Probo Sayekti inspired by Maksimer